Dangerous Waters Naval Combat Sim
Select messages from
# through # Forum FAQ
[/[Print]\]

Close Combat Series -> The Mess

#1: Dangerous Waters Naval Combat Sim Author: rob86 PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 4:43 pm
    —
Does anybody play Sonalyst Dangerous Waters (the newer version of Sub Command)? I'm not very good at it by any means but I do play it. For those who have never heard of it, it's a nice game/simulation, quite slow paced (naturally it can be sped up like most of these sims) and realistic and requires a lot of brain power. It's not a game for people that don't want to read a manual, before reading the manual it was like boarding a martian spacecraft for the first time. I didn't understand anything. The manual is quite good though and it's a rewarding experience for anyone interested in knowing what its like to be on a sub.

Dangerous waters is better than Sub Command because it also lets you "pilot" a helicopter, a naval bomber, a destroyer ship (or something) and of course different submarines. Graphics are very good though you don't often look at them other than to admire the cool explosion of your torpedo blowing up a ship or a surface to air missile blowing up a plane. The game is focused more on the real aspects of naval warfare so it's not about aiming with a mouse like an arcade game, it's about being using sonar, radar etc.

At first glance it's very difficult and probably scares a lot of casual gamers off, but once you read  the manual it's fun and relaxing, I recommend it.

#2: Re: Dangerous Waters Naval Combat Sim Author: crowleyhammer PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 3:34 pm
    —
This is definitely on my list of "to get" games, its just unfortunate that list is so long and then coupled with the "to play" list!

#3: Re: Dangerous Waters Naval Combat Sim Author: Therion PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:47 pm
    —
Is it something like the old Carrier Command?